IT’S FINALLY COLD!!!  Yes, I’m screaming that!  Three days ago it was 80 – today it was in the 50s!!!  Thanksgiving is a few days away and I couldn’t bare a hot Thanksgiving!

The main reason I’m stoked about the cooler weather is that I can wear my new Whistler Pull-Over and Hoodie from Love Notions!  Y’all, this sweater is amazing.  Just like many of Tami’s other designs, this top comes with lots of options!   You can also make it with a variety of knits, so be sure to read up on the specifics in the pattern and check out the Love Notions blog.

whistler3

I made 3 during testing.  They are so quick and easy!  I think just about every tester said they were making these as holiday gifts!  I’ll be in that number!  Please note that this is meant to be worn over a light layer.  Down in South Louisiana, we don’t know a whole lot about layering.  We go from tank tops to sweatshirts!  So this idea of wearing a light layer under the sweater for it to fit properly baffled me at first.  Then I wore a slim fit tee under the first one and I was sold!

My first Whistler is a burgundy French Terry Cotton Lycra from NR Fabrics on Facebook.  It’s not super thick but has a really nice weight to it with great recovery.  My favorite part about making it was digging through my grandmother’s button tin!

photo-nov-15-1-04-40-pm

My second was out of fleece.  I had this fleece in my stash for a while because I misunderstood the listing and thought I was buying denim to make pants for my son.  Turns out it was denim colored fleece.  Good thing the pattern is drafted with just the right amount of ease – I figured out after I was almost done that the fabric had zero stretch.  It still fit like a dream and is so cozy!

whistler5

My last was another French Terry Cotton Lycra, but it was thinner than the burgundy.  I’ve had it for a while and I’m not sure where I got it.  I decided to borrow the idea of a contrast collar from one of the other testers.  I paired it with this gorgeous Art Gallery knit from Peekaboo Fabric Shop and I am absolutely in love!  The pattern also features a hood option!

whistler10

The construction is very unique and features 2 giant front pockets.  There are so many ways to combine fabrics for this pattern.  I started with all solids, but several testers combined two to three different fabrics.  They all look fantastic!

Top and tunic lengths are included, as well as a flat or gathered front.  Also 3 hem options are included to give this a wide variety of looks.  You can go for a straight hem, curved hem with facing or a banded finish.  I tried them all!

I loved the curved hem on the pink one but after I took my final pictures, I decided I wanted it shorter.  So I went for the banded option.  I love it both ways!!

In case you’re unsure of which fabric will suit the Whistler best, you can check out the Love Notions blog where Tami breaks it all down with pictures!

Oh…and as an added bonus, I discovered that my pocket doubles as a cup holder!  Hey, I’m in South Louisiana…we always need cup holders!  #winning

photo-nov-20-5-36-29-pm

Posted by:rubyruecreations

4 replies on “Whistler Sweater by Love Notions

Leave a Reply

