I am so excited to wrapping up the Love Notions Hip Hop Blog Tour!  So many fabulous versions for ladies and girls – it makes me want to stop typing and sew up about 12 more!!  The Hip Hop Tank is one of those patterns that I had in my stash but never got around to sewing.  And of course, now that I’ve made a few I wonder what took me so long to sew this!

Yep – even though I’m sporting my kid-sized pants here, I still have to adjust the length because of my height!
As most of you know, I’m very petite.  Going to the mall was always torture; nothing ever fit right, even in the petite section.  I was stuck shopping in the kids section where the clothes was full of rainbows, kittens and tons of glitter.  For this almost 40-year-old, that just wouldn’t do!  So I started sewing for myself.

I am so grateful that I discovered Love Notions!  Tami makes her patterns very easy to adjust for a completely custom fit.  Most patterns contain lines for adjusting at the bust, waist and hip and detailed instructions are provided on measurements and how to adjust the pattern properly.

The Hip Hop Tank is packed with options, as are all of the Love Notions patterns.  I am in love with the tulip back version.  I think it took me longer to decide on which fabrics to use than it did to sew the whole thing!

I have to admit, though, I made a rookie mistake.  When cutting my first Hip Hop Tank, I shortened the tulip back pieces along with the front and back.  When I went to sew it together, I realized that my seams were way off.  Talking with a few sewing friends, I realized that I shouldn’t have shortened the tulips; but I had to save the top because I really liked the fabric combo!  Then someone suggested adding lace to the bottom of the tulips to make up for my boo-boo!

Y’all, I think this is the prettiest oops ever!  I love the back more now than without the lace!  To fix my mistake, I used wash away Wonder Tape to hold the lace into place along the back and topstitched.  Since I had a very small amount of lace in my stash to work with, I also tacked down where the lace overlaps in the middle back.  This way no one will see my oops if my tulips move around a little.  So simple!

This amazing pattern has so many options – tank, sleeveless, sleeved; solid back, tulip back, color blocked back, button up back.  You can use knits and wovens together for a perfect fabric combination too!  For both of my tops I used cotton lycra for the front.  The lace-backed tank features cotton lawn from Girl Charlee as the tulip back.  The navy and white print is a chiffon from Hobby Lobby (which I scored on SUPER sale!!).

I cannot wait to sew up the other versions!  Lucky for me, it stays hot down in New Orleans forever!  Paired with a simple cardigan, this pattern will even take me into Fall!

As part of the blog tour, be sure to check out the other amazing versions by clicking on these links!

Also, make sure to click on the Rafflecopter giveaway to enter for a chance to win a $50 credit to Love Notions!

Posted by:rubyruecreations

2 replies on “Love Notions Hip Hop Tank Love

  1. I LOVE the hip hop tank! You really have amazing work! Do you make clothes for boutiques or have your own storefront? I’ve recently started renting vendor space in a couple of local boutiques. I’d love to see if we can work something out to where I can buy a small bulk of clothes to sale in the boutiques. I will soon begin placing orders with my vendors for Halloween, fall, Christmas, winter products. If this is something you’re interested in let me know and we can figure out the best time to chat about it.

    Thank you, Brandi Hurley

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

